We’re engaged!

What a happy, happy way to start off a year.  I had the best birthday date I’ve ever went on with Robin at La Ferme (my new absolutely favorite French restaurant), and a few weeks later, had been proposed to on a rock by the water from the man of my dreams!  And, Rookie was my witness!  (We’ve decided Rookie shall be our ring barer, so we’re looking for someone to walk him down the isle!)

Late on a snow day, when Robin and I were both home, Robin suggested we take Rookie on a long walk and explore the snow.  Since it is so rare to (1) get snow in Washington DC and its suburbs anymore and rare for (2) both of us to have a day without any prior engagements or work, I was compelled to take Robin up on his suggestion.  Although, truth be told, I was conflicted because there was more rain then there was snow outdoors at that point in College Park.  He did convince me and we did head out West and then North from where we lived to find more snow.  So on and on we drove and I noticed we were approaching Robin’s parents house and he told me we weren’t going there.  We continued driving up some hilly roads and up to a sectioned off area – a park on a river had been shut down for the winter.  Robin parked the car and all three of us got out of the car.  Snow had stuck to all the grass, sprinkled along all the dark wet branches of the tall trees that reminded me of the species you find in Williamsburg, but it wasn’t so cold that the river was frozen.  The hue of the water was remarkably blue with a touch of sea green.  I told him how gorgeous it was, unknowingly that this spot was selected for a reason.  So, we walked up a trail Rookie seemed especially keen on exploring which lead to a rock at the tip of the piece of land, overlooking the river.  Robin hugged me to keep me warmer and then kissed my forehead and then said “You know I want to spend the rest of my life with you.  And, I want to have babies with you.  Will you make me the luckiest man?” He kneeled down on the wet rock and asked, “Will you marry me?”  I teared up and said “Yes!”

After he put the ring on my finger I couldn’t put my gloves back on yet.  He told me the symbolism behind the design of the ring.  There are two small pink sapphires on both sides of/below the diamond which represent the first rose he brought to our first date. He unknowingly brought my favorite shade of rose – a light pink.  There are tasteful designs of roses along the band as well, keeping with the theme.  So, for our wedding, we’ve decided to keep that theme going, and have light pink roses tastefully included in our festivities.

I can’t imagine my joy being any greater and can’t wait to spend the rest of my life with Robin Scott Smith.

Leave a comment